iPod Nano Touch Changing My Workouts

When my sister in New York asked how my February half-marathon went in Atlanta, I told her how frustrated I’d been, running with my phone strapped to my arm so I could listen to Pandora. My phone is not a 4G hotspot, so as the race course wove through downtown Atlanta and surrounding neighborhoods, my phone repeatedly searched for WiFi access. This usually happened when my pace was in sync with the beat, when I relied on the music to get me up that hill or through that lactic burn. Suddenly, it would cut off. Then, minutes later when I’d turned my thoughts away from the aggravation and steered them instead to self-cheer leading mode, BAM! The music would come back on, full volume, and scare the ba-jeebers out of me. My poor heart! As if the stresses of the event weren’t enough….

So my sister, being the incredibly awesome person she is, marched down to the Apple store in Manhattan and bought me an iPod Nano with Multi-Touch Interface. It arrived last week.

This little device is changing my running workouts in the most surprising ways. First, having the ability to build playlists of the kind of music that lights my fire, that coaxes me into my happy pace without me even realizing it, is fantastic. But even more fab is the Fitness tab.

The icon is the Nike symbol and a plus sign. I touched it and a new screen with three options appeared: Walk, Run, and History. After playing around with all the options, I realized you can choose, for example, a running workout of ‘X’ number of miles, and choose the music you want to listen to, and the Nano records in its history what time you begin and finish, how far you went, what your average pace was, and how many calories you burned.

I tried the Fitness feature out today for the first time, on a five mile run. I ran a course I am familiar with, one I know where is each mile marker. Sure enough, at the first mile a lovely voice spoke over the music and told me I had completed one mile. She counted off each mile and told me when I’d reached my half-way point. Cool!

The only way this feature could be better is if it calculated my pace during each mile. But, I realize there are devices and apps on the market that will do so, should I ever want to invest in one.

I’ll leave you with one of the songs from my new “Tempo Run” playlist. Take Over Control by Afrojack, featuring Eva Simons Enjoy!

About Nicole Ducleroir

I write stories and I run. Sometimes at the same time, though it's really hard to read my handwriting afterwards. *Note to Self: Buy a portable recorder* To read examples of my short fiction, visit http://nicoleducleroir.blogspot.com and click the Published Work or My Short Stories tabs.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to iPod Nano Touch Changing My Workouts

  1. simonclarter says:

    I have an iPod Nano, but it’s the older kind, and doesn’t have a fitness app. I feel a lack now, where I didn’t before. Is this…jealousy? I think it might be!

    CURSE YOU AND YOUR GADGETRY, NICOLE! 😉

    • Haha! Well, I’m usually the one who’s *w-a-y* behind the technology curve, so it’s nice to have something cool, while it’s still cool. Everything else I own earned “techno dinosaur” status, before I bought it. 😀

  2. Eric says:

    My daughter stole my nano. It was not the new one like yours, but she loves it. I loaded up my songs, she said, Cool!

    And then she yoinked it.

    – Eric

    • (Damn kids. My daughter wore my Birkenstocks to school today. I have to keep an eye on them — she wants them bad! ((Though, it’s great that we have the same shoe size, now.)) (((Then again, I think I’ll look a little silly grocery shopping in her black, knee-high Converse sneakers))) ((((May borrow them anyways…))))) But seriously, at least you’ll have some great songs on your nano If — no, *when* — you get it back from her. Thanks for reading, Eric!

  3. Rachel says:

    Very cool Nic!!

  4. maramcbain says:

    First off … what a fabulous, supportive sister! Yayyy! Secondly … isn’t technology grand? *grins* That gismo sounds like just the thing to help you kick butt on your workouts and the next race. Best of luck!

    • She IS the best! Supportive, generous, loving — I miss her!! Not only does she live in NY and I’m stuck down here in GA, but she travels constantly. Thank goodness for technology in general. She is never more than a text message away! Thanks for reading, Mara!!

Comments rock my world. So go on, let me know you were here!

