Day 1, Again

20111202-053427It’s training Day 1, again. Right now the official countdown clock to AthHalf 2013 says 103:21:30. That’s roughly 15 weeks away. October 20 will come quickly.

I hit the pavement this morning for a 4 mile run. I won’t lie; it wasn’t an easy one. Even once I’d warmed up, I had to slow down for short walking intervals so my heart wouldn’t rip out of my chest.

It’s always tough starting up after an off-season. The endurance just isn’t there. My mind says, Come on! (I won’t write what my body says in response. Trying to keep things rated E here.)

It’s important to listen to your body when you begin a strenuous training program. Pushing yourself too hard too early results in mental anguish and physical injuries. I’ve built walking intervals into the runs of the first three weeks of my program. Three weeks is about the length of time it usually takes me to strengthen my cardiovascular system to the point that I can consistently sustain a short tempo pace without needing to walk. Until then, I must be patient with myself. (Hear that, Mind?)

Looking forward to this training season. It’s going to be interesting to see how the vegan regiment I adopted in February works for me as I train. Even though this is the fourth half-marathon I’ve prepared for, it still feels like a new adventure. Here I go….!

About Nicole Ducleroir

I write stories and I run. Sometimes at the same time, though it's really hard to read my handwriting afterwards. *Note to Self: Buy a portable recorder* To read examples of my short fiction, visit http://nicoleducleroir.blogspot.com and click the Published Work or My Short Stories tabs.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments rock my world. So go on, let me know you were here!

