Post-run Foods for Vegans

Half Marathon TrainingI just finished a 5-mile modified tempo run. It took me about 55 minutes — as I’m still incorporating walking intervals into my runs. My rule-of-thumb is any run over 45 minutes requires a post-run “meal.”

The post-run meal should replenish nutrients depleted during the intense workout, not fill you up like lunch or dinner. Shoot for a 3:1 ratio of carbohydrates to protein. And it’s important to eat the meal 20-30 minutes after the run, for maximum refueling and recovery benefits.

Many of the oft-mentioned post-workout food options are derived from animals: Greek yogurt, grilled chicken breast, chocolate milk, boiled eggs. But what about vegan options?

Here are some of my favorite plant-based foods for post-run refueling:

  • 1/2 apple with 1 TBSP peanut butter
  • Homemade hummus (3 TBSP), with carrot and celery sticks
  • Chocolate almond milk (8-10 oz)
  • Fruit smoothie made with almond milk (10 oz)
  • Fruit (1 banana, peach, handful of cherries, orange, etc.)
  • Oatmeal (prepared w/ almond milk, preferably overnight in the fridge. Recipe HERE)

What do you prefer to eat after a grueling run?

About Nicole Ducleroir

I write stories and I run. Sometimes at the same time, though it's really hard to read my handwriting afterwards. *Note to Self: Buy a portable recorder* To read examples of my short fiction, visit http://nicoleducleroir.blogspot.com and click the Published Work or My Short Stories tabs.
This entry was posted in Running, Vegan Foods, Vegan Runner and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments rock my world. So go on, let me know you were here!

